Olives

December 11, 2007

pict0180.jpg

Last night I drank a 2005 Rosso Di Montalcino, by Claudia Ferrero, which I think was probably Sangiovese, because if it was Brunello, well, it would have cost more than the $17 I paid. It was nice, good even, with a nosefull of chocolate and cherry and leather. I was in the mood for a nice, big wine and whoever Claudia is, she came through.

And so what if I drank it myself?

Who are you to judge?

Listen, my headache this morning was my problem, and not yours. The wine was good, okay? I dealt with my headache like a big boy, after two cups of coffee and a hot shower I was alright. At 6:30 when we left, it was cold, with frost on the windshield and a white dusting in the grass. Up in the mountains, it was our last day of the olive harvest, and dawn had just begun when we began working.

Once it warmed up, it was a beautiful day. I didn’t have to be in charge of a bunch of dudes, but just work with them, just picking olives out of the trees on a lovely, sunny day by a mountain pond. With my dog jumping around the hemmed lavender bushes and back to me, and the natural smell of a fresh olive in a tree, it was a nice aroma-therapeutic sojourn. I read a bit at lunch, napped with my dog at 2:00, and finished off the day in a good mood.

One Response to “Olives”

  1. cali girl Says:

    Sounds like a really nice day. I wouldn’t mind trading a few days of sitting here behind a desk for a few picking olives. Is there a local olive maker that you know, that you would recommend?
    And regarding the wine you were drinking…are you also a food person? what kind of food would you recommend with such a wine? I like my wine as well but often have a hard time deciding on the right pairing. Any suggestions?
    thanks for your blog…I really enjoy reading it.
    Have a wonderful day!


Leave a Reply

